Queries, group & access bookings: 0333 130 0967
Phones 2-4pm | Counter sales 1-2.30pm
Monday to Friday and one hour before each concert

12 Ensemble: Reborn

  • Wednesday 19 September 2018 - 7.30pm
  • The Stoller Hall
  • £17.44-£8.72

Book tickets

  • 12 Ensemble
    Maxim Rysanov - viola
  • Tansy DAVIES Residuum
    John WOOLRICH Ulysses Awakes
    BRITTEN Lachrymae, Op. 43
    SCHUBERT (arr. MAHLER) String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, 'Death and the Maiden'

The 12 Ensemble and guest viola soloist Maxim Rysanov find fresh voices in old sounds with music from Britten and Schubert, a new multimedia performance of Woolrich, plus a work from Tansy Davies.

This programme explores how artists reach across generations to influence each other. Renaissance composer John Dowland’s impassioned Lachrimae provide the inspiration for Tansy Davies’s thrilling work Residuum, and Benjamin Britten’s own Lachrymae. Later, music, dance and film collide in Ulysses Awakes, Woolrich’s 1998 paraphrase of Monteverdi, with a score performed live by the ensemble and featuring new choreography by Alexander Whitley. Schubert’s Death & The Maiden completes the evening, arranged here for string orchestra by another of the great Romantic composers, Gustav Mahler.

Finding innovation in old ideas comes naturally to the 12 Ensemble. Founded by Eloisa-Fleur Thom (Principal Violin) and Max Ruisi (Principal Cello) in 2012, they have established a reputation for injecting youthful energy into the chamber music repertoire, whether they’re performing classic string orchestral works, or new works by Mica Levi or Sigur Rós.

£8.27 tickets for students and under-19s

Prices listed are inclusive of 9% booking fees

This concert is supported by Resonate, a PRS Foundation initiative in partnership with the Association of British Orchestras, BBC Radio 3 and Boltini Trust.


Subscribe to our newsletter for all the latest news, updates and event announcements.